How a Cotton Turkey Changed My Life | levimerino.com

artturkey
A philosophical reasoning behind keeping art in public schools

When I entered 3rd grade the elementary school I attended had just built a new area for for the music and art department. By my 5th grade year, the school cut down to one each art and music teacher; Mr. Troutman and Ms. Yarrick. The same happened once I finished middle school. By 8th grade two art teachers went down to the lonely Mr. Thomson. Music was only available to those who signed up for the band. And, 8th grade was the only chance you had to take Drama with only one teacher who ended up quitting because of her workload. There was no dance or creative writing, but we did have three detention teachers.

What exactly does a cotton turkey do to change one’s life? Find out here.

