Amend Your Conscience | Daily Quote (GR)

bddefinitionbillhicks101080

“I’m glad mushrooms are against the law because I took them one time, and you know what happened to me? I laid in a field of green grass for four hours going, ‘My God! I love everything.’ Yeah, now if that isn’t a hazard to our country! How are we gonna justify arms dealing if we realize that we’re all one?”
Bill Hicks

I also like what he said about Christians wearing crosses as necklaces. That that is the last thing Jesus wants to see when he comes. Another fucking cross. Hicks was like that, always playing the irony out and sometimes just saying things so flatly you weren’t sure whether to laugh or amend your conscience. That was his gift, structuring seemingly separate logics into a frame that showed how ridiculous and absurd they all could be. And the brilliance is, he made it hilarious without losing depth or insight.
