Ruthless and Mending Love | Daily Quote (GR)

Philip-Roth--Premio-Principe-de-Asturias-de-las-Letras-2012-

“When a man makes love to a beautiful woman he gets revenge for everything that has defeated him in life.”
Philip Roth

I came across this early this morning, probably because I haven’t made love to a beautiful woman in a long time. I may have been drawn to it because I dreamt somewhere in the first few soft hours of sleep, drawn back to a memory of a time, I dreamed of a beautiful smile, of the sensual spell a woman’s eyes can portray, of a veil of falling hair, of the soft fervor of her body and words whispered and shadows and secret moonlight, and my broken body’s prayer at that time, if I was defeated before and was soon to be again this would be my greatest reprisal. For ruthless and mending love that life cannot defeat.
